How I Met Your Mother Season 9 Double Premiere (2013 Fall Premieres)

The Final Season

The Final Season

Last night was a wondrous night of laughs and getting to know an intricate character for a show that has been near and dear to my heart for nearly 10 years. How I Met Your Motherfinally introduced THE Mother. We have yet to know her name, but Lilly Eriksen was comforted on a train ride to the mythical town of Farhampton by a complete stranger who offered her up some “somofbitch” cookies.

The show was riddled with laughs and hat tips to previous jokes and had many memorable moments. The best moment might have been when Ted gave Robin a very important gift. (Spoilers) It was a framed photo of the gang from 8 years ago, One of the photos that were taken of the entire group with ‘that disposable  Kodak camera from the opening sequence in the bar’ was what Ted gave Robin, and it broke my fragile heart and put it back together all at once.

Photo Ted gave Robin

Photo Ted gave Robin

Obviously it didn’t have the “created by” in the photo though. This particular gift created an emotional moment for not only the audience but I’m sure the cast as well. (End Spoilers)

Promo Picture before the season began

Promo Picture before the season began

Even though this was a double episode, we have yet to see the entire cast together. Marshall may not even make it to Farhampton in time for the wedding! But we all know that’s not going to happen since the writers will be having the entire Robin and Barney wedding weekend play out for the WHOLE SEASON?! I’m not sure how I feel about this as a writing AND viewing structure. It makes my predictions wrong about the season, but it also seems really constricting. I know that they will have plenty of “flashback scenes” of the future (because they threw us a bone at the end of the episode) but it takes away the chance of us seeing the relationship that formed between Ted and the Mother. And it takes away their wedding. Will they end up showing them getting married at the end of the season? I sure hope so. You would think that we would at least get the news of her being pregnant as well considering that the show is about her being the mother of Ted’s children. So I am just a bit concerned with how they plan on filming and writing this final and very important season.

I can’t be the only one though right? I know I’m not. They claim they will use a lot of the flash back technique, but that doesn’t mean they’ll leave important milestones out without even thinking about it. Like the news of the Mother getting pregnant, the engagement, the wedding, how Robin will take Ted getting married even though she’s marrying Barney, and tons of other stuff that may be left out with this writing technique.

I hope to see more interactions with the entire cast, and I can’t wait to see the rest of the guest stars for the season. It will be one helluva ride, and after the cast and writers delivering the hour long episode, I can only hope for the best. I like the mother, her attitude on life, her jokes, and genuine personality. I’m sure the rest of die hard fans will agree, when I say, they cast her well and are writing her perfectly. Expect lots of laughs and tears in this final season of HIMYM and click the below photo to watch the double episode you might of missed last night.

Click the pic for last nights double episode

2 comments on “How I Met Your Mother Season 9 Double Premiere (2013 Fall Premieres)

  1. Pingback: 2013 Fall Premieres-What Jacki K is Watching & Possible Reviews | Reel Thoughts of Jacki K, Jacki Krumnow, Jacqueline Krumnow

  2. Pingback: We Are Men (2013 Fall Premieres) | Reel Thoughts of Jacki K, Jacki Krumnow, Jacqueline Krumnow

Leave a Reply

